Rules and Eligibility

A. All entries MUST have been published or aired in 2018 except for in specified online categories.

B. An award will be presented in each of the following: “Best in Category (1st place)” will receive a certificate with seal and blue ribbon; “Second Place” will receive a certificate with seal.

C. The contest is open to all journalists working in and published within the following 21 counties of New York State: Onondaga, Madison, Cortland, Cayuga, Oswego, Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Lewis, Herkimer, Oneida, Otsego, Delaware, Chenango, Broome, Tompkins, and Seneca counties; and as far west as State Route 14 in Tioga, Chemung, Wayne, Schuyler and Yates counties.

D. There is no limit to the number of entries you can submit in each category.

E. The same story may not be entered twice. It is up to each contestant to decide which category any given story best belongs based upon these rules.

F. Early Bird Entry Fee is $15 for each entry BEFORE JANUARY 15th. After the 15th, fee per entry is $20. Students participating in the college categories also pay an entry fee of $15 for each entry.

G. BROADCAST ENTRIES: Broadcast contestants must include in their entry the URL linking the video or audio file being submitted for an award. 

Print entries must be submitted as .PDF files. 

All entry forms must be completed and entries uploaded or URL provided by 11:59 p.m. January 31, 2019.

To ensure fairness, the SPC will try, wherever possible, to use panels of judges for each category selected from outside the SPC contest area.

Note: This is an awards competition. If only one entry is submitted in a category, we will return the entry and entry fee. Judges also reserve the right to not bestow a first or second place award in a category. Awards will not be judged unless we have received your entry payment. Entries with incomplete entry forms, missing stories, or broken links may be disqualified.

InstructionsCategoriesEnter Now